Monkey Say 'Huh'
(The things we see that are supposed to make sense...but leave us with more questions than answers)
I wish I had a photo to put up, but unlike the other millions of Americans I am cell phone free. Which again leaves me with not the wish for a cell phone, but for a digital camera.
Along my drive today I saw the best digitized highway display. I was driving along a 4 lane highway divided into two 2 lane sides and in between is a flashing sign that warns:
HIGH DEER AREA
That was good... that warned me that there was a plethora of deer in the area and to be on the look out! Thank you! No sarcasm at all, that is always a great warning to know. Has anyone ever seen the damage to both the deer and your car when the two meet? It's not pretty for either side.
But then... it flashed again:
SEE A DEER
DON'T VEER
Wait what? Monkey say 'Huh'? What do you mean don't veer? Am I supposed to floor it and hit the sucker straight on??? Really, what am I supposed to do? Give Bambi the ol' one two BA-BAM! Watch it roll to the side as my car then limps away (well I have a truck, so we'll say stagger away). Instead of seeming safe, this traffic "safety" sign is making me feel everything but safe. For both me AND the deer!
Don't get me wrong, its not like I think they actually want me to hit the deer headlong. But if you want people to safely brake if possible then you need to have a third flashing message like:
BRAKE TO
ESCAPE
ESCAPE
(I have just been informed the method is to brake, but then release your brake so that the deer is not hit with a braking force that was greater than your original speed).
I know the above doesn't rhyme but hey... It's a suggestion. When telling people what NOT to do... you need to have a follow up of WHAT to do. Just saying...

.jpg)







